Fearful Flyer Part 2

Well, we went on our trek to the Pacific Northwest with my 9-year-old son who was not happy we were flying. I made sure we brought lots of activity books and notebooks, coloring stuff, a Game Boy and tablet to keep him busy while we waited to board and while on board the flight. I think this probably helped the most. I asked him to draw several things for me – something he loves to do. He sat in between mom and dad (where he feels safe) an did just fine. We followed all the advice I had researched including not drinking a lot of caffeinated products. Upon arrival at the Seattle/Tacoma Airport after an almost 4-hour flight, he says, “It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.” Thank God and the pilots we didn’t have too much turbulence. On the return, the take-offs and landings still made him cringe but they still kind of make me nervous too. His one piece of advice, “Don’t be afraid to try it.” So, for all you fearful flyers out there – give it a chance. You might just like flying.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

